TCNJ, NJAC, women's lacrosse
Wayden Ay (Photo by David Siegrist - JSN)

The College of New Jersey women's lacrosse program received many individual honors as the New Jersey Athletic Conference announced their 2023 postseason awards. Junior Ally Tobler (Washington Township, NJ) was named Attack Player of the Year while senior teammate Wayden Ay (Haddonfield, NJ) was named Defensive Player of the Year. 

TCNJ junior Julia Charest (Cinnaminson, NJ) was named the Goaltender of the Year and head coach Sharon Pfluger received Coach of the Year honors. 

Rowan sophomore Molly Green (Mullica Hill, NJ) and Stockton's Aubrey Giordano (Mount Olive, NJ) round out the major award winners as Midfielder of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively. 

Ally Tobler, TCNJ, lacrosse

Junior Ally Tobler, No. 13 (Photo by David Siegrist - JSN)

Tobler led a high scoring TCNJ squad this season, totally 62 points on 54 goals and eight assists. She led the NJAC in goals per game (3.60) and points per game (4.13) in the regular season. 

As fantastic as the Lions offense was all season, their defense was equally as prolific, led by Ay and Charest. Ay, now a two-time Defensive Player of the Year award winner, caused 1.44 turnovers per game. Charest recorded a 7.50 goals against average and .508 save percentage during the regular season, both ranking her first among starting NJAC goalies. 

The winningest coach in NCAA women's lacrosse history, Pfluger led the Lions to a 13-3 regular season, capturing the NJAC Women's Lacrosse regular season championship. 

TCNJ Lions Battle Rowan in NJAC Championship

TCNJ will take the field on Saturday, May 6 in the NJAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Championship. The Lions will face the No. 2 seed Rowan Profs. The game will take place on the campus of TCNJ in Ewing, NJ at 1 pm.

Gregg Snyder