Wrestling Update: Njsiaa Tournament Section Semifinals By John Sorce

North II Group IV

Middletown North 57, Scotch Plains-Fanwood 16

The Lions picked up 11 out of the 14 individual wins to advance to the North II Group IV championship match. Austin Dewise pinned Bobby Mount in the heavyweight class in 4:30 and Thomas O’Keefe defeated Kyle Rigney in 1:10 in the 106 weight class. Also picking up individual victories for Middletown North were Tyler Klinsky (113), Fredrick Luchs (120), Jonathan Provenzano (126), Nate Pujols (132), Mike Puzo (138), Stanley Wojdylak (152), Nico Cerbo (160), Nicholas Cofone (182), and Jacob Anderson (195).

Central Group V

Howell 64, Manalapan 9

The Rebels raked up 12 of 14 individual wins and advanced past Manalapan to the Central Group V championship in convincing fashion. Jesse Liptzin (106), Ethan Liptzin (113), Jerry Lleshi (120), Darby Diedrich (126), Luke Rada (132), Kyle Slendorn (138), Daniel Esposito (145), Xavier Kelly (152), Shane Reitsma (182), Christian Murphy (195), Mike Ventos (220), and Scott Prendergast (heavyweight) claimed victories for Howell.

Central Group IV

Long Branch 48, Colts Neck 17

The Green Wave rolled past Colts Neck to advance to the Central Group IV championship, piling up 10 individual victories. Ryan Zimmerman (113), Chris Dean (132), Ryan Carey (138), Issac Shohet (145), Louie Saez (152), Luke Arnold (160), Daniel Santos-Silva (170), Peter Wersinger (195), La’Qym Morris (220), and Kevin Cerruti (heavyweight) collected wins for Long Branch.

Central Group III

Ocean Township 33, Rahway 28

In a tightly contested match that saw both squads collect seven individual victories, it was Ocean Township advancing to the Central Group III title match with a five-point victory over Rahway. Earning wins for the Spartans were Demetri Poniros (106), William Tisony (113), Jack Nies (126), Alex Poniros (132), Saif Ali (138), Jake Benner (145), and Anthony Esposito (170).

Central Group II

Raritan 50, Delaware Valley 9

The Rockets had lift off and will advance to the Central Group II Championship after a convincing win over Delaware Valley in the semifinals. Eleven of 14 Rockets recorded individual wins, including Matt Spirko in heavyweight, defeating Karl Burke in 29 seconds. Also picking up Raritan wins were Jordan Rafalko (106), Robert Taddeo (113), Mike Lonnay (120), Russell Benson (132), AJ Erven (138), Christian Sookdeo (145), Andrew Bohal (152), Anthony Aquilano (160), George Burdick (160), and Ethan Wolf (220).

Central Group I

Shore Regional 52, Maple Shade 18

The Blue Devils advanced to the Central Group I championship thanks to a 52-18 win over Maple Shade. Earning wins for Shore Regional were Jack Maida (106), Matt Klemser (113), Brad Smuro (120), Al Desantis (132), Michael McGhee (138), Jarrett Weir (152), Ian Smith (160), Taylor Sousa (182), Michael Rosati (195), and Balint Bognar (heavyweight).